Three teachers in the Dallas Independent School District were honored as Teacher of the Year for elementary, middle and high schools, by the Rotary Club of Dallas at ceremonies on August 10.
Winning awards in 2022 are Natalie Hebert, Jill Emery and David Newhouse. Each teacher received a check for $2,500 and a commemorative plaque. Dr. Hubert Zajicek, president-elect of the organization, chaired the event.
“For the past 30 years, the Rotary Club of Dallas has recognized outstanding teachers who practice the Rotary motto of Service Above Self in working with their students,” explained President Rachael Jones. “It is heartwarming and reassuring to see the care and concern exhibited by these teachers as they strive to support and encourage their students in their academic achievements as well as demonstrating their concern for others.”
Texas Education Agency Commissioner Mike Morath sent a pre-recorded video, recognizing the Club for honoring teachers. Former DISD Superintendent and US Under Secretary of Education Linus Wright also spoke to the group and congratulated the teachers.